Cae'n y Coed, near Betws-y-Coed
A field in the woods with picnic spots and a forest...
The only lake in Snowdonia for power boats and water skiing
Gwydir Forest Park lies in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park.
Since Victorian times, generations of visitors have walked the woodland paths and fished the clear waters of the rivers here.
Today, waymarked walking trails allow visitors to explore this landscape of lakes, forests and mountains and to learn about its mining history.
There is also a mountain bike trail (which is graded red as it is only suitable for proficient riders), a forest garden and a waymarked walk to the famous Swallow Falls.
Between 1850 and 1919, lead and zinc mining dominated the area. The legacy of old engine-houses, waste tips and reservoirs are characteristic features of the forest landscape today.
Nearly all of the lakes in the forest were created to serve the mines.
Several of the most important mines have been partially restored and made safe for visitors.
Nowadays, as you explore the extensive, rolling upland of wooded knolls, lakes and pastures, you will find it difficult to imagine that this was once a derelict industrial landscape.
Gwydir Forest Park covers an area of over 72 square kilometres (28 square miles) and it encircles the village of Betws-y-Coed.
Waymarked walks start from the following parts of Gwydir Forest Park:
The Marin Trail, a red graded mountain bike trail with big climbs and singletrack only descents, starts from Sawbench.
Llyn Geirionnydd lake is three quarters of a mile long lake. It was reputedly the home of the 6th century poet Taliesin.
In the 1870s, this was a derelict industrial landscape - in fact, the car park lies on a waste tip near an old lead mine entrance.
This is the only lake in the Snowdonia National Park where power boats and water skiing is permitted.
The Geirionydd to Crafnant Trail is a waymarked walking route to nearby Llyn Crafnant where there is a circular walk around this reservoir with great views.
One of the Trefriw Trails, a series of nine waymarked walking trails from the village of Trefriw, leads to Llyn Geirionnydd.
2.6 miles, 4.4 kilometres
This trail takes in the two beautiful lakes of Geirionnydd and Crafnant. The route heads off around the southern edge of Llyn Geirionnydd and offers fantastic views down the lake’s full length. It then descends steeply through the shady forest to a wonderful view across Llyn Crafnant and the other side of the valley.
The toilets are open from 9am-7pm all year around. They are locked overnight.
Llyn Geirionnydd is four miles west of Llanwrst off the B5106.
Car parking is free of charge.
Take the B5106 from Conwy or Betws y Coed to Trefriw, then follow signs for Llyn Geirionnydd.
Llyn Geirionnydd is on Ordnance Survey (OS) map OL 17.
The OS grid reference is SH 763 604.
The nearest train station is in Llanrwst. For details of public transport visit www.traveline.cymru
Tel: 0300 065 3000
Is there anything wrong with this page? Give us your feedback.