South West Wales Area Statement

South West Wales is a diverse and varied corner of the country from the rugged uplands to an extensive and beautiful coast.

Introduction to South West Area Statement

Welcome to the South West Wales Area Statement. South West Wales covers the local authorities of Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire and represents 22% of the population and 23% of the country’s landmass.

Reducing health inequalities

This theme aims to examine the opportunities to address health inequalities in South West Wales by using natural resources and habitats.

Ensuring sustainable land management

Ensuring our land is sustainably managed for future generations.

Reversing the decline of, and enhancing, biodiversity

This theme aims to explore how we can reverse the decline of biodiversity by building resilient ecological networks.

Cross-cutting theme: mitigating and adapting to a changing climate

This theme looks at how we can adapt and respond to a changing climate.